Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs;

Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs;

The following gives an insight into how people perceive their place in the world and what we as humans need in order to reach ‘fulfillment’.

Level 1:

Physiological/biological needs; oxygen, water, food, rest, sleep, waste removal, reproduction, cell regeneration & avoidance of pain.

Level 2:

Safety needs; stability, security & protection e.g. housing & job security.

Level 3:

Love or belonging needs; the human requirement of companionship, love, affection, community etc. Once the physical & safety needs are met humans become increasingly susceptible to loneliness.

Level 4:

Status or esteem needs; concerned with the acceptance & respect of others, status & recognition etc. The higher end of this is also concerned with self-respect, competence, achievement & independence. If not fulfilled this can result in low self-esteem.

Level 5:

Self-actualization; this is separate from the other four levels. These needs develop and become stronger the more they are met. They are concerned with fulfilling potential, striving to become the most complete person as possible and are concerned purely with your own ‘self’.

“ Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design for the present.”- Jim Rohn.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All